HHS Issues Details on Reporting Requirements for Provider Relief Funds

The Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) on Tuesday released details on the reporting requirements for companies that received federal money designated for health care providers grappling with the COVID-19 pandemic.

The notice of reporting requirements details the timing of future reporting for recipients of distributions from the Provider Relief Fund (PRF), created by the CARES Act coronavirus stimulus bill passed in March.

The requirements are for those who received “one or more payments exceeding $10,000 in the aggregate from the PRF.”


Providers that received both general and targeted distributions will have to follow the mandates. Under the terms and conditions of the payments, PRF recipients will have to submit reports to HHS, with more detailed reporting instructions coming by August 17, according to the notice.

The reports have to demonstrate compliance with the fund’s terms and conditions, including the use of the money for “allowable purposes” for every payment from the PRF. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) will be providing question-and-answer sessions via webinars before the submission deadline.

The reporting system will be available starting October 1.


“All recipients must report within 45 days of the end of calendar year 2020 on their expenditures through the period ending December 31, 2020,” the notice said. “Recipients who have expended funds in full prior to December 31, 2020 may submit a single final report at any time during the window that begins October 1, 2020, but no later than February 15, 2021.”

PRF recipients who have funds even after December 31, 2020, will have to submit a second and final report by July 31, 2021.

The general distributions that fall under the reporting requirements include:

  • Initial Medicare distribution
  • Additional Medicare distribution
  • Medicaid, Dental & Children’s Health Insurance Program distribution

The affected targeted distributions include those for:

  • Skilled nursing facilities
  • High-impact areas
  • Rural
  • Indian Health Service
  • Safety-net hospitals

Companies featured in this article: